Transitioning Into Tech? Take a Leap!

Transitioning Into Tech? Take a Leap!

Designing A Career Road Map - Steps To Making The Right Choice

·

2 min read

leap 2.png

The Leap

The Buzz in the tech world in recent times left me eager and wanting more than the usual 9 to 5 (7 to 5 actually). I challenged myself to take a 360-degree switch in my career.

And then it hit me. I did not have anyone in my circle who could show me the way. It felt so lonely and I got lost with all the information on the internet.

I was confused about which area in tech I wanted to specialize in, how to get started, and who or where to go. Everyone had an opinion on which area was in high demand and most sort after.

choice.png

The Decision

My Hubby of life, knowing how much I wanted direction and mentorship, came home one day with some information about "The ADA project". A free 7 months program targeted at training women especially in the South East in Tech careers organized by The Enugu State Tech Hub.

Finally, a community that would hold my hands and teach me the skills I needed.

In one of the onboarding sessions, I listened to a video presentation by Yetunde Odumosu on "Designing a tech career roadmap" where she spoke about answering some key questions to enable me to make a very easy choice in my tech career. Some of the questions were:

  • What do people say I am good at?
  • What aspect of my work do I enjoy or dislike the most?
  • What do I find myself doing in my spare time?
  • What motivates me?
  • What is one area, skill or topic I know better than most people in my circle?

images.png

The Journey

I have had some time to reflect on those questions and now I can say I am ready.

Do I still feel giddy and a teeny weeny uncertain? Sure I do.

But as Celestine Chua once said > Fear, uncertainty and discomfort are your compasses towards growth.